City Life

I love the city.  My city probably differs from what most people consider ‘city’.  It has less than a quarter of a million people and has a very small downtown.  I do not live ‘downtown’.  I do not live in a condo or a highrise.  I have an older city lot that I guess may have been the 20’s version of the suburb.  However, as far as this area goes I’m considered ‘in the city’.  I live less than a 15 minute walk from downtown.  I have all amenities within easy reach and my neighbourhood is mature.  Great trees, fantastic park nearby and the provincial legislature is visible from my front garden.  

On the flip side, I work in an area that is not so ‘city’.  Although it is within city limits as much as my area is it is much younger.  The denizens of that area have a much different idea of what a city is than those who live in my neighbourhood*.  It was established in probably the 60’s through 70’s.  It has a very consumeristic bias and is not very pedestrian friendly.  There are no landmark parks or pathways.  The patients I deal with are not the type of people I’d be friends with.  

I find it very striking to see the difference a few blocks can make in the makeup of a community.  By no means am I claiming I have hit up some utopia of social living… I’ve been here less than 3 years and less than a year in the current home.  But I am saying that I feel more at home in my area of the city than I ever would up where I work.  Those who have garages have them in the back lane, not out on the main road.  You can see the people and their front yards instead of an enormous port for people to park their cars in… effectively preventing them from stepping outside at all on their journey to and from work… or walmart.  My area has local shops with independent owners.  CathedralIMG_7237.1Regina

I can feel a little more comfortable ripping up my plain grass lawn to plant a hedge, or god forbid… a vegetable garden.  Would I get away this in my area of work? Maybe… but I know the neighbours would hate it.  The girls I work with have grown up in the ‘newer’ areas of the city and constantly make digs at where I live, despite it being one of the most sought after neighbourhoods in the city.  These girls complain about having nowhere to park, feeling claustrophobic with all the elm trees and the ‘tacky’ old houses.  They can’t fathom why someone would want to live in an older home or near the lake which would stink in summer (for those of who know… it doesn’t anymore).  They don’t understand the benefit of having an eclectic neighbourhood where you can walk to where you want to go.  

I love where I live.  This may not be where I’ll be forever, but for now it feels more like home than any place has before.  I feel like I’m able to put down roots and find community here.  I want to nurture this plot of land that I have into something beautiful, not just for resale value but for the mutual benefit for my own sense of being and soul.  The heart of the city is really alive and I love being a part of it.  I feel inspired on my walks just soaking up the heritage and the hard work of those who have been here before me and that of my contemporaries.   I look forward to becoming even more involved with the community.  This is where I live.

One response to this post.

  1. I adore this street scene. And I cannot wait until all the trees in my suburban neighborhood are large and shade the street this way!

    Don’t let people get you down. It’s usually their insecurities about their own lives as well as repressed jealousy that makes them say the things they do!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

